NEWS8 April 2022

IAB Tech Lab announces board of directors for 2022

News North America People

US – Global digital advertising technical standard-setting body IAB Tech Lab has elected its 2022 board members.

Chairs around a table in a meeting room

Board members are voted in by the wider membership base and are responsible for determining IAB Tech Lab’s strategic direction during their appointed term. This year, leadership from EMX Digital, GroundTruth, Sharethrough and T-Mobile will join the IAB Tech Lab board to contribute to the strength of the digital advertising ecosystem. 

The digital advertising body announced Dr Neal Richter, director of science at Amazon Advertising, as chair of the organisation’s board of directors for the fourth year in a row. As chair for the past three years, Richter has been a member of the board since its inception as the IAB Ad Technology Advisory Council. He is a software industry veteran with over 25 years’ experience.

For the vast majority of his career, he’s been focused on data science, machine learning and artificial intelligence applications. At Amazon DSP he oversees a team of data scientists and engineers focused on RTB bidding algorithms and systems across display, mobile, audio and video. Prior to joining Amazon, Richter was chief scientist at SpotX and chief technical officer at Rakuten Marketing, as well as chief technology officer and chief scientist at the Rubicon Project. 

“Neal has been a member of the Board from the very beginning and has been instrumental in helping to move the industry forward,” said Anthony Katsur, chief executive officer, IAB Tech Lab.

“With a finger on the pulse of the latest innovations in data science, machine learning and artificial intelligence, Neal has contributed to a number of notable achievements including the development of the OpenRTB protocol, ads.txt, ads.cert, sellers.json and other associated standards.”

“Neal is a true visionary and I look forward to another year of working closely alongside him and the board to ensure that we create a thriving, unified marketplace to address the concerns of our members and the industry at large.” 

Those new members of the IAB board of directors elected for a two-year term are the following:

  • Michael Zacharski, chief executive officer, EMX Digital
  • Eddie Dingels, chief operating officer, GroundTruth
  • Curt Larson, chief product officer, Sharethrough
  • Michael Peralta, vice-president & general manager, T-Mobile Marketing Solutions

Additionally, J Allen Dove, chief technology officer of Magnite, has been appointed to the board in an interim fashion, pending next year’s election by members.