NEWS15 December 2009

Flamingo named best agency at Research Awards


UK— Flamingo took home the best agency award at the Research Awards in London last night.



Flamingo beat off competition from five other shortlisted companies: The Big Picture Market Research, Comres, Conquest Research, Munro Global and Sense Worldwide. The agency last won the award, jointly with FreshMinds, in 2006, and also won the BMRA’s best agency award in 2003.

Group managing director Maggie Collier told Research: “It’s all about our people. We have a fantastic team of loyal and dedicated people, who work extremely hard, an inspirational team of people. That’s what it’s all about.”

The best new agency award went to Razor Research, while Hall & Partners Europe was named best place to work.

The business transformation award went to eDigitalResearch and New Look, and the research breakthrough award went to Starcom MediaVest Group for its SpaceID segmentation tool.

In the MRS Awards, fellowships were awarded to Aftab Ahmad, Dominic Buck, Clive Humby, Fiona Jack, Penny Mesure, Martin Oxley and Alan Wilson.

The new customer insights award went to Shoko Masuda of American Express and Sue van Meeteren of Jigsaw Research.

Sheila Keegan of Campbell Keegan won the award for best paper at Research 2009, while Niels Schillewaert of InSites Consulting won the award for best presentation. Research editor Marc Brenner picked up a gong for Special Contribution to Conference.

The full list of winners follows:

MRS Awards
MRS Fellowships: Aftab Ahmad, Dominic Buck, Clive Humby, Fiona Jack, Penny Mesure, Martin Oxley, Alan Wilson
New Consumer Insights: Shoko Masuda, American Express and Sue van Meeteren, Jigsaw Research
Financial Services Research: Rachel Barnes and Kirsty Cogan, Aviva and Sarah Castell, Amy Hawthorn and Billie Ing, Ipsos Mori
Applications of Research: Transport for London Customer Research Team
Public Policy/Social Research: Firefish
Advertising & Media Research: Qmedia & Channel 4
Judges’ Special Award: Millward Brown
David Winton Award (Innovation in Methodology): John Cromie and Michael Ewing, Monash University
MRS Silver Medal (Best paper in IJMR 2008 ): John Cromie and Michael Ewing
IJMR Collaborative Research Award: Greg Rogers, Procter & Gamble and Didier Soopramanien, Lancaster University
MRS Accredited Masters Prize: Paolo Antonetti, Cranfield School of Management
MRS Advanced Certificate Award: Celine Webb, TNS Research International

Other Association Awards
MRS/AURA Insight Management Award: Arriva and Marketing Databasics
MRS/BIG Business-to-Business Research Award: Nick Bassett, Vodafone UK Enterprise Business Unit and Matt Burn and Carrie Lawrence, ICM Research
MRS/ASC Technology Effectiveness Award: QSR
AQR Prosper Riley-Smith Award: Amelia Coulam and Andrea Higgins, Green Light Research

Research Magazine Awards
Best Agency: Flamingo
Best New Agency: Razor Research
Research Breakthrough: Starcom MediaVest Group
Best Place to Work in Research: Hall & Partners Europe
Business Transformation: New Look and eDigitalResearch

MRS Annual Conference Awards
Best Paper:  Sheila Keegan
Best Presentation: Niels Schillewaert
Best Newcomers: Jamie Hamilton and Paul Dixon
Special Contribution: Marc Brenner



15 years ago

Congratulations to all the winners. Happy Christmas from all at McCallum Layton!

Like Report

15 years ago

Well done, some very worthy winners. I am delighted for you all.

Like Report