This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

NEWS26 March 2009

Research 2009 award nominees revealed

A good year for Lawes, Hamilton, Dixon and young researchers

UK-- The Research 2009 awards team has announced the shortlist for this year's conference awards.

It was a good year for Rachel Lawes of Lawes Consulting who got the nod in both the best paper and best presentation categories. Jamie Hamilton of nQual and Paul Dixon of The ID Factor also scored a brace of nominations with an appearance in the best conference presentation and best newcomer categories.

Ray Poynter and a host of young researchers notched up a nomination in the best contribution to conference category for the second year running for his Pecha Kucha session. Research editor Marc Brenner also made the cut in this category for the Ideas Rush.

Author Mark Earls capped his return to conference with a nomination for his session alongside an anthropologist, an economist and a zoologist.

Here is a full list of the nominees:

Best Paper

This is for the best formal written paper presented at the conference and published in the conference proceedings. Quality content and ideas are fundamental to this category, as is a clear and accessible document. The award is made on the basis of the written document – not the on-the-day presentation.

Michelle Harrison & Sara Jones for ‘Segments, Hugs and Rock 'N' Roll'

Sheila Keegan for ‘Forget the labels. Feel the content'

Rachel Lawes for ‘Futurology through semiotics'

Best Conference Presentation

This is based almost totally on the presentation and on-the-day audience experience. Quality of content is fundamental – followed by style and visual aids.Both written papers and non-formal contributions are eligible.

Jamie Hamilton & Paul Dixon for ‘Real-time global research – a qual revolution'

Rachel Lawes for ‘Futurology through semiotics'

Niels Schillewaert for his presentation during the Pecha Kucha session

Best Newcomer Award

This is given for a contribution from someone who has never presented at the MRS Conference before – this can be a younger person or someone comparatively new to the industry. Both written papers and non-formal contributions are eligible.

Monty Cholmeley & Nathan Evans for their joint presentation in the Pecha Kucha session

Jamie Hamilton & Paul Dixon for ‘Real-time global research – a qual revolution'

Jeff Haselum for his Pecha Kucha presentation

Special Contribution to Conference

This is for a contribution which is judged to have really added value to the conference experience. It could be an individual, a session, a paper, a workshop, a speech, a technology.

Marc Brenner for devising and chairing the Ideas Rush series

Mark Earls and his speakers for their session ‘What can an economist, a zoologist & an anthropologist tell us about mass behaviour?'

Richard Gilmore and his panel for their debate ‘Question Time'

Ray Poynter and his young team for the Pecha Kucha session

The winners will be announced at the annual Research Awards dinner in London on Monday 14 December.

Author: Brian Tarran