NEWS18 May 2021

Phyllis Macfarlane awarded MRS gold medal

News People UK

UK – The Market Research Society (MRS) has awarded Phyllis Macfarlane, twice MRS chair and former managing director of GfK, its gold medal in recognition of her service to the industry.

Phyillis Macfarlane_crop

Macfarlane (pictured) first joined MRS in 1990 and has chaired the MRS Awards judging panel. Macfarlane also helped form the Ghana Market Research Association.

The gold medal recognises significant contributions to the market and social research sector. There have been 17 winners of the award since the gold medal was introduced 39 years ago.

Macfarlane will be presented with the gold medal at the MRS Excellence Awards lunch in September 2021.

Macfarlane said: “Ours is a sector where there are new ideas and things to learn and develop every day, as well as clever, entrepreneurial and interesting people to talk to and work with.

“Having been given so much myself, by so many, it was a no-brainer to go on to support the sector as much as I could – through training and education, but also through collaboration on lots of committees and initiatives.”

Jane Frost, chief executive of MRS, said: “Phyllis has been a true role model for the entire research sector across her career, promoting the power of research across the globe.

“The support she has given to MRS over the years has been nothing short of phenomenal and we all have reason to be grateful to her.”

The lunch will also see the latest MRS fellowships awarded, which recognise senior professional status and major contributions to the research and insight sector.

Fellowships awarded this year are:

  • David Cahn, principal of Synygis Consulting
  • Johnny Caldwell, innovation consultant at Panelbase
  • Rob Ellis, founder of COG Research
  • Richard Ellwood, director of brand marketing and integrated planning at the Walt Disney Company
  • James Endersby, chief executive at Opinium
  • Ruth France, independent market research consultant and former chair of the MRS Management Board
  • Dr Peter Furness, independent mathematician and member of the MRS Census and Geodemographics Group
  • Derek Jones, founder and chief executive of Acuigen
  • Claire Labrum, co-owner of Strictly Financial
  • Tim Macer, managing director of Meaning
  • Caroline Noon, co-founder and director of Vivid Research and Planning
  • Dr Mark Thorpe, board director of Truth Consulting
  • Neil Wholey, head of research and performance at the Cabinet Office
  • Trevor Wilkinson, managing director of Purple Market Research.