NEWS19 March 2014

MRS Conference Award nominees

Best Workshop, Best Session Chair, Best Newcomer, Best Presentation and Best Overall Contribution.


Best Workshop
This award is judged on the interactivity, practicality, originality and management of the workshop.

The finalists are:

  • Martin Gent and Lucy Morris for ‘Stepping into our creativity’
  • Gregg Fraley, Indy Neogy, Kate Hammer, Suzanne Allers, Sally Kemkers and Rita Vienhues for ‘Think with your hands’
  • Andy Barker and Charlotte Tre for ‘Please Miss! Can I have some inspiration from education?’

Best Session Chair
This award recognises the chair who brings together and hosts the most informative, entertaining and inspiring session.

The finalists are:

  • Elina Halonen
  • Jo Rigby
  • Graeme Trayner

Best Newcomer
This is given to a younger person who has never presented at the MRS Annual Conference before

The finalists are:

  • Susie Bentley
  • Ettie Etela
  • Katia Pallini
  • Matt Taylor

Best Presentation
This is given for the best presentation given during the conference.

The finalists are:

  • Elinor Bateman
  • Nathan Pierce
  • Richard Wilson

Best Overall Contribution to Conference
This award is for the contribution which has really added value to the conference experience.

The finalists are:

  • Caroline Hayter for curating the session ‘An adventure into the unknown’
  • Graeme Trayner and his speakers for their session ‘Power to the people’
  • Sinead Jefferies and her speakers for ‘Improving our lives’

Winners will be announced at the MRS Excellence Awards event on 10 June.